for a holiday full of relaxation and magic

Our chalet in Val Badia was born in 2015 after restructuring and extension works to the original building which once hosted the millers of the village of Longiarù. That is where the Ladin name "Mornà" comes from which means miller. We strived to replicate this strong historical and traditional connection in the internal and external spaces of the chalet, looking to create an authentic atmosphere in harmony with both the past and the present.

Inside the walls of an antique residence a comfortable place has been created without architectonic barriers, immersed in the tranquillity of the nature facing the imposing peaks of the Dolomites.

We welcome our guests with warmth which comes from the heart, we offer them personal service and stand by them during their holidays in Val Badia. What makes us happiest is being able to make your stay in Longiarù something special. For this reason, we are always available to provide you with tips and advice on excursions and activities that you can undertake in Val Badia.


From occupancy by the millers from Longiarù to chalet in the Dolomites

Before the advent of tourism,

which today supports the families in Val Badia to a large extent, in the valleys an economy of sustenance prevailed. Despite the high altitude and the harsh climatic conditions almost at the limit of sustainability, the farmers in Longiarù cultivated rye, barley, oats, broad beans and potatoes already back in the 15th century.

From 1700

to turn the cereals into powder and flour they started to construct water mills. The mills are deeply rooted in the valley of Longiarù, which at one stage had more than 40 different types. The importance of these buildings can be witnessed in the local surnames and especially in the toponymy. In actual fact, Chalet Mornà's original building was called "Al Mornà" which in Ladin means "The millers" and the village where they emerged was called "Plan Morin" which means "plain of the mills."

The village name

is derived from the past concentration of mechanisms which made use of the power of water. In addition to millers at "Al Mornà" Plan Morin was also home to a Venetian sawmill, threshing machines and the cooling machines of a forge as well as 3 other water-powered mills, all powered by the same flowing water.

The mills at Longiarù

never operated as an autonomous productive entity, but were used solely to cover the needs of the individual farmers, or groups of farmers who owned them.

The "Al Mornà" house

was an exception to the rule: It was the only mill which worked for third parties. Built in 1756 and finished in 1770, according to the frescoes still visible on the outside, the building was the only stone-built mill and the only one housing a dwelling. Whilst a majority of the mills were operated twice a year, primarily in autumn and spring when the machines ran uninterruptedly day and night, the house "Al Mornà" had an activity that was much more consistent, even if the trade of being a miller alone wasn't enough to sustain a family.

The method of construction of the mills

and the trade of the millers have inevitably disappeared with the passing of time. The movement and sound of the heavy wooden wheels had to make way for the advent of the electric motor. But still the mills are testament to the farming culture and the history of Val Badia.

At Chalet Mornà we try to keep
these memories alive.